Kansas Governors

Kansas GovernorsThis guide offers a look at the past governors of Kansas, men who have shaped the history of the state. These entries are not intended to be comprehensive biographies, but brief examinations into the most important acts of each executive.

Along the way, we will explore the diverse backgrounds of the governors, the main events of their time in office, and the lasting legacies that they have left behind. Most importantly, we will read their own words to get a glimpse into their minds and understand how they determined their course.


Territorial Period (1854–1861)

Andrew H. ReederAndrew H. Reeder


Daniel WoodsonDaniel Woodson


Wilson ShannonWilson Shannon


John W. GearyJohn W. Geary


Frederick P. StantonFrederick P. Stanton


Robert J. WalkerRobert J. Walker


James W. DenverJames W. Denver


Hugh Sleight WalshHugh Sleight Walsh


Samuel MedarySamuel Medary


George M. BeebeGeorge M. Beebe